Association of Personal Historians is dedicated to telling life stories

Among my professional associations, I have gained much from my membership to the Association of Personal Historians.

APH is dedicated to helping individuals, families, organizations and communities preserve their valuable histories, memories and life stories.

For me as a photo organizer, emphasizing “the story” helps organize and prioritize any collection of photos. I know that good writing isn’t necessarily long and wordy and, in fact, good writing is shorter so I value the opportunity to tell important stories with something as simple as a photo caption. Yes, it’s true a picture is worth a thousand words, but oftentimes, those words are best written down.

I appreciate most of all APH’s dedication to telling the stories of the “average” person. Everyone has an interesting story to tell.

The Chicago chapter of APH has an active little group I’ve been grateful to get to know, and if you’re interested in helping tell people’s stories, I highly recommend membership.

The Association of Personal Historians is meeting this weekend in St. Louis at its annual convention, and I’m sorry I can’t be there. I hate to make excuses, but I’m excited nevertheless that my memoir, “The Percussionist’s Wife: A Memoir of Sex, Crime & Betrayal” is available at the convention store. I hope the meeting is productive for all involved.

Learn more about the association here.

Leave a Reply

