Record ‘things that matter’ for your posterity

Mike Huckabee’s latest book has the community of personal historians all a twitter.

“Dear Chandler, Dear Scarlett: A Grandfather’s Thoughts on Faith, Family, and the Things That Matter Most” is a compilation of Huckabee’s  advice earned through 50-some years of life. As introduction, he writes:

“I wrote these letters so that long after I’m gone, you’ll know that I loved you, had great hopes for you, and wanted to give you my best advice on living in this tough world. If I can’t be there with you, I hope my letters will act as a sort of reminder of me — as if I’m standing there beside you, whispering in your ear, and putting my arm around your shoulder.”

Huckabee is a former governor of Arkansas and current talking head on Fox News Channel. Whatever you think of his politics, the concept for this book is smart. While you could encourage your children and grandchildren to adopt Huckabee’s advice, you could write your own hard-earned life philosophies for your descendants. If you can’t do it by yourself, you could write it with the help of a personal historian.

What a lovely and valuable gift this holiday season, better than LEGOS or iTunes gift cards.

Leave a Reply

