Share a photo for The Lives They Lived issue

Did a memorable someone in your life die this past year?

Pay tribute to his or her memory by entering an image of the person in the New York Times’ The Lives They Lived issue.

This issue is an annual celebration of some of the most intriguing non-celebrities who have died during the past year. It could be a wedding snapshot, a travel brochure, a book cover, a blueprint of a dream house: any photograph or image that captures one moment from the life of the person you’d like to remember.

Isn’t that the power of a photograph? To share important memories? Whenever I ask people why they bother to photograph anything, invariably, the first answer is “memories.” “Sharing” comes pretty close to the top of the list.

You get 200 words to describe why you chose the photo you submit. Make them count.

Your photograph may run on nytimes.com or in the printed issue of the magazine published on Dec. 30. If you would like your submission to be featured in the magazine, it is especially important to provide your contact information and submit a hi-resolution image (at least 300k or 300 dpi). Click here to submit a photo.

Deadline for submissions is Dec. 10.

As long as you’re writing about your loved one, share what you write here on Clickago Storywerks, too. I would love to hear it and share with others.

2 comments on “Share a photo for The Lives They Lived issue

  1. karen t says:

    Thanks for the inspiration! I uploaded a photo I know you’ve seen before…the one of my parents holding hands. It’s one of my favorite things. I can’t wait to see all the photos and stories that they select. Very cool project. Below is the story I submitted to go with the photo…

    My Father’s hands were large—rough from hard work, and unbelievably strong. If he shook your hand, you knew it. Those hands built homes for our family and many others. Those hands fixed things and created beautiful things. Regularly folded in prayer, those hands also clapped loudly if he was winning a game of cards. Those hands held the smaller hands of children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren. Those hands taught me how to drive, to work hard, and be kind. In later years and lighter work, those hands became smooth and soft, but remained strong.

    Before my Father died, he was unable to speak due to Alzheimer’s. But his hands still told stories. With just one gesture of those hands I could see a glimpse of the man I knew and loved—just for a moment. But the most important story those hands told was of the love my parents shared. Whenever my Mother would visit him in the nursing home, they’d hold hands. After I took this photo, I realized that you could see their love in their hands. Alzheimer’s heartbreaking march couldn’t erase the bond that 62 years of holding hands had created. I’ll never forget those hands, or the love.

  2. Monica Lee says:

    Oh, this is so beautiful. A wonderful tribute to your father. Thank you for sharing with all of us.

Leave a Reply

