Rub-a-dub-dub, 3 photos by the tub

My mother believes everything one hangs on the walls of one’s home should mean something.

Watercolor paintings I created in high school, wedding photos of all my grandparents and great-grandparents, pictures of my brother (who passed away in 1999) and handmade quilted wall hangings decorate her home.

Her tradition is a trend now. “Wall art spending has increased in even the past two years,” Joellyn Gray of Fujifilm recently told a room full of photo organizers.

So when I recently repainted my bathroom, I wanted something meaningful and photographic with which to decorate. Have you seen those photo montages of classic outhouses? Yeah, I was thinking of something like that, only not a tribute to the commode. Yes, the room is for … um, outhousing … but I decided to put the focus on a different function of the bathroom: The bathtub.

gallery blocks close

I tracked down photos of my stepchildren when they were young and frolicking in the tub and scanned them. I have only two stepchildren, and I know odd numbers are more pleasing in design so I took a photo of my adorable miniature schnauzer being bathed, too.

Photos with dimension.

Photos with dimension.

Being a scrapbooker at heart who loves adding a dimensional aspect to photos, I used a manufacturer who offers a concept called “gallery blocks.” A gallery block is a print laminated over a solid wood constructed box; my project is “The Triple,” which floats three inch-thick blocks on a backboard, but there are dozens of other design options, too.

The color theme of my bathroom is brown and aqua, so I converted the images to sepia tone and chose a backboard with aqua water droplets.

Tracking down and doctoring up the images was the most time-consuming part. Once they were ready, I simply uploaded them, proofed the layout and sent them off. A week later I had the finished product in my hands.

The finished gallery block arrived, by the way, with an easy-to-install hanging bracket and easy-to-follow instructions. Once he tracked down his electric screwdriver and level, my husband hung this in 30 seconds.

If you’re interested in creating a meaningful wall hanging like this one with your photos, contact me or another member of the Association of Personal Photo Organizers who can take care of scanning, uploading and ordering for you.

2 comments on “Rub-a-dub-dub, 3 photos by the tub

  1. dishofdailylife says:

    Cute! I need to make one of those gallery blocks! Love them!

  2. stacmo77 says:

    Love it!! It’s always hard to decide what to decorate a bathroom with. A great alternative to sea shells or the prints of bathtubs to hang in the bathroom. What’s up with that?

Leave a Reply

