Tips on preserving, archiving and displaying letters

Do you have a rich correspondence to preserve?

My 99-year-old grandmother and I have been exchanging letters for as long as I have been on my own. I usually write about the places I’m visiting, and she writes about who’s visited and the weather, all in her particular handwriting. I enjoy knowing what’s going on with her.

Many of her letters stored in a manilla folder, but I ran across this website the other day with better ideas for preserving important letters.

The Center for American War Letters offers tips on Preserving Your Wartime Letters, many of which could be applied to letters from any source. Some of the tabs include:

  • Storing and displaying your letters
  • Marking and cataloging letters
  • Temperature
  • Email
  • Repair and restore letters
  • Archive products

If you have wartime letters, love letters, letters from a pen pal or letters from Grandma you want to hang on to, check it out.

Leave a Reply

