No. 1 rule for taking better landscape photos

Real fans of landscape photography probably own several types of lenses and pairs of good hiking boots. They already know how to take good landscape photos.

The rest of us tend to take pictures of what we see outside our car window.

Which is why, when I’m winnowing a lifetime of photos for someone, I usually put a lot of landscape photography in the C pile–the trash Can. Most of it is just bad.

So the best tip I can offer you for taking better landscape photos on your next vacation or visit to the county park is this:

Don’t be lazy!

Walk around. Squat to get close. Climb to get a better view. Try a perspective that’s different than the one that’s easiest to get to. Get up early or skip happy hour (sunrise and sunset are great times for landscape photos). Move a little, and you’ll find better shots.

Here are a couple personal examples.

Bad

IMG_6155

Note the power lines. And the fence. And the lack of any sort of anchor. The clouds passing over the dunes are beautiful. But this photo is not.

Better

IMG_6137

This image required me to scramble over two, yes two!, berms. I also had to get up early enough to catch the sun in some position other than overhead; my positioning tells the story of a blindingly bright day in the desert.

I know I can do better so I will continue trying. I know I will be rewarded for s-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g a little out of my comfort zone, and I bet you will, too.

Leave a Reply

